Scroll to content
School Logo

Elm Tree Primary School

'Growing Enquiring Minds'

Contact Us

Spellings

Monday 6th June to Friday 10th June

 

This week our spelling words are

want

watch

wander

squash

quantity.

Monday 23rd to Friday 27th May.

 

This week we are looking at suffixes. 

 

Our focus five words are 

enjoyment

playful

sadness

careful

finally

Monday 9th - Friday 13th.

 

Our spelling words are

word

work

worm

world

worth

 

We are looking at the /ur/ sound spelt as 'or'. 

Tuesday 3rd June - Friday 6th June. 

 

This week our spelling words are 

key

donkey

monkey

chimney

valley

 

We are looking at words that end in 'ey'.

Tuesday 26th - Friday 29th April

 

This week our spelling words are 

mother

other

nothing

brother

Monday

 

Our spelling pattern is the 'u' sound spelt as 'o'.

Monday 28th- Friday 1st April

 

This week our spelling words are 

all

ball

walk

talk

always

 

We are looking at the 'or' sound spelt as 'a'.

Monday 21st- Friday 25th March

 

Our spelling words are

sadder

saddest

dropping

runner

patting

 

We are learning about doubling the consonant. 

Monday 14th March - Friday 18th March

 

This week our spelling words are 

happier

happiest 

cried

emptier

emptied.

 

The 'y' is changed to 'i' before adding -ed, -er and -est.

Monday 7th - Friday 11th March

 

Our spelling words this week are

tries

cries

replies

babies 

copies

 

We are looking at taking off the 'y' to add 'ies'.

Monday 24th - Friday 28th January 

 

This week our spelling pattern is 'el' at the end of words. 

Our focus five spellings are

towel

travel

squirrel

tunnel 

camel.

Monday 17th - Friday 21st 

Our spelling pattern this week is 'le' at the end of words. 

 

Our focus five words are

middle

little

bottle

puddle

apple

Monday 10th- Friday 14th.

 

This week our spelling pattern is 'wr' at the beginning of words.

Our words are

write

written

wrote

wrong

wrap

Friday 3rd December to Thursday 9th December

 

This week we are focusing on spelling words with the 'soft c' sound. 

Our focus five words are:

race

ice

cell

city

fancy

 

Friday 26th November - Thursday 2nd December.

 

This week our spelling pattern is 'dge'. 

We have looked at where the trigraph comes in words and that is comes after a short vowel sound. 

Our focus five words are:

badge

edge

bridge

hedge

sledge

Top